Board of Directors

Board of Directors

David Wolf Executive Chair

Mr. Wolf is a senior level executive with a record of success in solving complex business issues and building shareholder value in both public and private companies. David joined Hamilton Thorne as President and CEO in late 2011 and led a team that grew revenues over 10-fold from 2012 to 2024 and transformed the Company into an international leader in its field. Before that, David was a member of the founding management team of Elcom International, Inc. (NASDAQ), where he played a key role in growing the business to $800 million in revenues in four years and orchestrating Elcom’s successful IPO. As President of Elcom Systems, David transformed an internal development organization into a full-fledged software development, marketing and services company that successfully implemented electronic commerce systems for companies around the world. Prior to Elcom, David was Chief Operating Officer of JWP Information Services, a subsidiary of JWP Inc. (NYSE) where he built the operational infrastructure to support its growth from $250 million to $1.4 billion in sales, and President and COO of NEECO, Inc. (NASDAQ), a $250 million business IT distribution and services business purchased by JWP.

Karen Firestone Director and Chair of the Audit Committee

Ms. Firestone is co-founder, CEO and Chair of Aureus Asset Management, a Boston, Massachusetts-based registered investment advisor. Previously, Kari worked for over two decades at Fidelity Investments. She was a portfolio manager of sector funds such as the Select Biotechnology, Health Care, Transportation, Media and Leisure Funds. She also managed several diversified funds, including Destiny l, Large Cap Fund, and Advisor Large Cap Fund. For several years, Kari was responsible for all of the equity positions and decision-making in funds with collective assets of over $12 billion. Kari is also a member of the board of directors of Amylyx Pharmaceuticals (NASDAQ:AMLX). Ms. Firestone received a Bachelor of Arts degree in Economics, magna cum laude, from Harvard College and an MBA from Harvard Business School.

Feng Han Director and Chair of the Compensation Committee

Mr. Han is a Managing Partner at CTIC Capital, a boutique private equity consulting firm focusing on Internet technology and healthcare, and partner at Pagoda Capital, a private equity firm that focuses on healthcare and technology. Previously, Mr. Han was Managing Director at Fosun International where he managed U.S. healthcare investment activities, and Director of Corporate Business Development at Henry Schein where he led mergers and acquisitions in Asia. He has over 25 years of healthcare operational and investment experience in the U.S., Europe, and Asia across healthcare sectors including emerging technology, med-tech, and services. Mr. Han holds an MBA from The Wharton School, University of Pennsylvania, an MS from Michigan State University in Microbiology and Molecular Genetics, and a BS from Shandong University in Microbial Engineering.

Bruno Maruzzo Director and Member of Audit Committee and Nominating and Governance Committee

Mr. Maruzzo is President of TechnoVenture Inc., a technology consulting company where he provides business development, corporate development, IR, engineering management and general management services to public and private high technology companies. Prior to that he served as Director, Corporate Development at GeneNews Limited, an early-stage molecular diagnostics company. Mr. Maruzzo is currently a director of Sintana Energy, Inc. a TSX V-listed companies. Mr. Maruzzo has significant experience in the Canadian public markets.

Robert Potter Lead Independent Director, Chair of Nominating and Governance Committee and Member of Compensation Committee

Mr. Potter serves as Operating Advisor of Potter Group LLC. Until December 2021, Mr. Potter was General Manager Database Performance Management at SolarWinds Corporation. From October 2017, Mr. Potter was CEO of Sentry One, a database performance optimization company acquired by SolarWinds in 2021. Formerly CEO-in-Residence at Alpine Investors and CEO of Alpine Software Group. Prior to that he was Senior Vice President and General Manager, Business Information and Analytics of Rocket Software, and President and CEO of Expressor Software. Bob has substantial experience with securing public and private financings, and has managed several successful exits, most recently for a number of private equity-backed companies.

Marc Robinson Director and Member of the Audit Committee

Mr. Robinson serves as the Managing Director, Investments at FAX Capital Corp, a holding company focused on making long-term investments in high-quality public and private growth companies. Mr. Robinson has previously worked as a small-cap portfolio manager and was awarded the Lipper Award for Best 3-Year Performance, Canadian Focused Small/Mid Cap Equity in 2018. Previously, Mr. Robinson was an established equity research analyst at a leading Canadian small-cap focused investment dealer, where he also sat on the firm’s executive and risk committees, and worked as an investment banker at Merrill Lynch. Mr. Robinson is a seasoned executive with over 20 years of experience across various facets of the North American capital markets and has a demonstrable track record of successfully financing and advising high growth companies. Mr. Robinson holds a Bachelor’s degree in Statistics from the University of Western Ontario and an Honours and Master’s degree in Business from the Richard Ivey School of Business.

David Sable Director

Dr. Sable is Portfolio Manager for the Special Situations Life Sciences Fund L.P. Previously, Dr. Sable was Director of the Institute for Reproductive Medicine and Science at Saint Barnabas Medical Center in New Jersey. He is board certified in both obstetrics and gynecology and reproductive endocrinology, and has held academic positions at Harvard Medical School and the Columbia University Graduate School of Arts and Sciences. Dr. Sable served on the board of directors of RESOLVE: The National Infertility Society and is a member of the medical advisory board of Progyny. Dr. Sable is a thought leader in IVF and manages two investment funds focused on the IVF field. He is a graduate of the Wharton School and the University of Pennsylvania School of Medicine.

Kate Torchilin Chief Executive Officer, President and Director

Dr. Kate Torchilin joined Hamilton Thorne as its Chief Executive Officer, President, and as a Director in January 2024.  Previously, Kate was the President of the Biologicals and Chemicals Division at Thermo Fisher Scientific, where she was responsible for the development, manufacture, and global commercialization of their cell culture, cell therapy and chemical business. Kate also has over 20 years of experience in the life sciences and healthcare industries, including, serving as Global Head of Connected Health and Women’s Health at Alere, Inc., where she was responsible for their global business in diagnostic testing supporting healthy pregnancy.  Kate earned a PhD. in Biochemistry from Tufts University and an MBA from Harvard Business School.

Daniel K. Thorne Director and Member of Nominating and Governance Committee and Compensation Committee

Mr. Thorne is President of Star Lake Capital, Inc., a private venture capital firm that invests in technology companies, and its related fund, Star Lake Bioventures LLC. Mr. Thorne is also a Trustee Emeritus of the National Trust for Historic Preservation, Chairman of Global Heritage Fund, Vice President of the Harris and Eliza Kempner Fund, Chairman of the International Wildlife Trust, and a member of the board of trustees of Dian Fossey Gorilla Fund International.